It’s not Friday…

…but I have finishes to show.

Still pretty windy out there. I'm a bit happier with this now there's some pink and orange going on.

Still pretty grey, gloomy and windy out there. I’m a bit happier
with this now there’s some pink and orange going on.

Not quite as wishy washy as they looked in the previous post

Not quite as wishy washy as they
looked in the previous post

The back of Happiness, made from 100% stash and scraps.  I’m quite proud of not rushing out and buying a piece of bland generic wideback. Now to sandwich and pin, and then it becomes my evening hand work. Once I’ve decided how I’m hand quilting it, of course.

So far, it's 38 x 37" or thereabouts.  Still a way to go before it's a lap quilt.

So far, it’s 38 x 37″ or thereabouts.
Still a way to go before it’s a lap quilt.

The blue border on Car Quilt. Now I can start piecing the 4-patch border on the machine. My new day work. After that we’ll be back onto hand work, as I have to applique the blue border to the 4-patch border. I ran out of the dark blue fabric 2 hexagons before the end. After an extended rummage in my still unsorted scrap boxes, I located a piece which was the same dark blue, but without the overprint. I don’t think it shows, since you can’t really see the print anyway unless you get up close and personal.

The cyclone? Not interesting. It’s finally achieved cyclone intensity and has therefore been named Hadi. (I dunno, I’m assuming male, as the other one in the Gulf of Carpentaria has been named Gillian and they alternate between male and female these days). However, Hadi is a has-been and looks set to head back out into the Coral Sea where it can play with the big one brewing over the Solomon Islands. Certainly the wind has dropped drastically from about 70kmph last night to about 20kmph this morning. My banana tree is getting whipped to shreds, and the passionfruit vine is dangling off the fence. On the upside, the Brugmansia flower is hanging on, and I’ll be able to show you what it looks like in a couple of days if a) it develops properly and b) the grasshoppers leave it alone.

Right, off to start piecing the 4 patch border. Compulsive, moi?

9 thoughts on “It’s not Friday…

  1. Linne says:

    Love that quilt! Grandmother’s Flower Garden has long been one of my favourites; it’s on my someday list. ~ Linne

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not hard, just slow, but you can pick it up and put it down. I do it while I’m watching TV. I find it easiest not to bother with cutting the fabric to shape, I just wrap a 2.5″ square around the paper template, and stitch through fabric and paper. It doesn’t add much fabric to the total. If you like this one, take a look at my heirloom quilt on the Chiconian Quilts page. Now that was a loooooong job!

  2. Whoop whoop! Congratulations on this “Magical Monday Finish!!” ( just made that up ! 😉 )
    Esther

  3. Great work, and I am glad the storm is calming down,

  4. The back of happiness looks lovely… I especially like the corner detail.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s the kind of detail you use when your fabric isn’t quite long enough! But it does look nice, necessity being the mother of invention and all that. Currently engaged in stitching the Car Quilt, of which more tomorrow.

  5. Tracey R says:

    The back of happiness looks like a fantastic quilt in its own right

Leave a Reply

