Creeping closer

…on two fronts.

The back of Happiness, nearly completed

The back of Happiness, nearly completed

I’m creeping closer to completing Happiness. Here’s progress so far on the back. You may recognise some of the fabrics as ones I used for backing on the Triple Trouble quilts. I had a fair bit of two and a small bit of one of the fabrics left, so I’ve just worked around what I had and added in things that seemed to go. I still need to add another 7″ border around what you see here to bring it up to size and give me enough spare to quilt with. I’m playing with the idea of using the turquoise fabric I have left over from the back of Tree of Life. But I’m not sure… I think the colour may be too strong. I shall have to go and rummage a bit further in the cupboard. The photo’s a bit dull; I should have used the flash. In reality, the colours are brighter and more cheerful, not so greyish.

And here’s what’s creeping closer on the cyclone front.

T.C. Gillian, heading our way. She's tending more and more southerly, so we may be in for it.

T.C. Gillian, heading our way.
She’s tending more and more southerly, so we may be in for it.

We are now within the destructive wind zone, so we’ll definitely have to batten down the hatches after the Dowager has gone home this evening. She’s coming round for dinner, and I have to go and make a carrot cake for dessert in a minute… If/when the cyclone arrives, she’s going to be called Gillian.

That long pod in the centre is the flower bud of my Brugmansia. If it survives, it'll turn into a gorgeously-scented apricot trumpet

That long pod in the centre is the flower bud of my Brugmansia. If it survives, it’ll turn into a gorgeously-scented apricot trumpet

The first flower on the passionfruit that has survived the grasshoppers.

The first flower on the passionfruit that
has survived the grasshoppers.

Out in the garden, I’ve taken photos of a couple of things which may well not survive the night. I just wanted to prove that my passionfruit is really flowering, and that my Brugmansia is actually in bud – normally I wouldn’t expect either of them to flower till next spring.

Right, time to go and fill the water storage, take in all the loose stuff and then get cracking with the cake.

8 thoughts on “Creeping closer

  1. Oh I hope that storm just goes away!
    Great quilt back, lovely colours!!!
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not going to go away, I’m afraid. We’ve had more warnings issued today, and it’s heading right for us. If we lose power, at least I can still work on my hand sewing!

  2. tialys says:

    That’s the way to look at it I suppose – get some of those WIPs finished. Not that your WIPs hang around for long anyway – you seem to streak ahead with everything.

  3. katechiconi says:

    Latest advisory has the dratted thing arriving on Monday. At least I’ll have my Sunday relatively peaceful! Think I’ll be able to finish the Car Quilt blue border.

  4. Anlina says:

    Hope Gillian isn’t too fierce, good luck with the garden!

  5. That will be a truly reversible quilt.
    Is there still time for the storm to change direction or peter out? We live in hope.

    • katechiconi says:

      The BoM is producing increasingly eccentric tracker maps for the bloody thing. At this stage, it’s looking as if it’ll stop short of the coast, turn sharp right and head north again. But as it changes every single time they issue a new bulletin, I’m prepared for the worst!

      Last border for the quilt back going on today, I hope, other stuff permitting.

Leave a Reply

