Happiness is …. a finished top!

Yup. Done it. And it’s still putting a smile on my face. 

Happy, happy! I love this quilt so much!

Happy, happy! I love this quilt so much!

Now I have to piece a back.  This is not going to be a work of art, but it should be nice and scrappy. The front is the star attraction; as far as I’m concerned, the back is to hold the batting in!

The wind's really picking up. It took ages to get two usable shots. Sun's still shining, though...

The wind’s really picking up. It took ages to get two usable shots.
Sun’s still shining, though…

The weather forecast is making more noises about a possible cyclone at the weekend. As we haven’t undone much of the preparation we did last time, getting ready should be fairly straightforward. 25 litres of drinking water, 80 litres of washing water, some dry goods, fresh fruit and we’re done.

Back to the cutting mat. I have a back to assemble.

27 thoughts on “Happiness is …. a finished top!

  1. Jen Gardener says:

    Wow that was quick! This one’s really beautiful. Simple yet striking.

  2. I love the design, it’s like deliberate understatement. Really beautiful and classy.

  3. mlwilkie says:

    Love the fabrics and colors of the squares!!

  4. tialys says:

    This is stunning. To be honest, complicated quilts are clever and look amazing but I much prefer the simpler designs. This one showcases the fabric beautifully. Have you decided how you are going to quilt it yet?

    • katechiconi says:

      Not yet, but I’m going to be kind to myself. I’ll be doing it by hand rather than trying to wrestle it through the machine. I’ll probably do something simple like outlining each square 1/4″ from the seam. Or maybe I’ll quilt a heart or circle or flower in each square. I’ll see how it goes.

  5. Tracey R says:

    Looks fantastic ! ! I had better be quick with my contribution to armistad!

    • katechiconi says:

      No pressure! I still have to do a load of sewing for the pieced back, plus there’s the Car Quilt. How many blocks were you thinking of doing? I only ask so I can plan a layout…

  6. Tracey R says:

    Oops ! Amistad!

  7. Kirsten says:

    I really like this quilt. It is colourful and light and bright and airy all at once!

  8. I love it! It is very smile inducing! 🙂

  9. wombatquilts says:

    I love how the white sashing makes each print a focal point. I love this top. Stay safe and hopefully the cyclone will blow itself out. What name are they giving it?

  10. Ashley says:

    It turned out fabulous! I can’t wait to see this finished and how you decide to quilt it!

Leave a Reply

