The List

I’ve been feeling a bit glum due to lack of forward motion on various projects.

It’s not that I’m bored with them, it’s just that events and schedules have conspired to reduce my available sewing time.  So I thought it was time to review The List for the year.

Tree of Life: Finished. Waiting to be delivered in person in April.
Wervelwind, Vlucht and Komeet: Finished and delivered.
Happiness: Top half done. Needs more white fabric
Car Quilt (to be renamed when done!): centre section done, outer borders still needed for the top
Amistad: planned, fabric pulled.
Broken Bottles: planned, fabric pulled

That’s the quilts to which I have committed so far.  In addition, we have:

Mariella’s scrap quilt
Claire’s scrap quilt
Ohio Star UFO: see if it can be saved – the bits so far are badly distorted.
Hat Box quilt
Winter quilt (hand pieced)
Steampunk quilt (hand pieced)
Lap quilt for Natalie
Postage stamp scrap quilt for me.

Plus whatever I decide to do with the fabrics I bought at the Brisbane Craft & Quilt Show in October…

Now obviously the entire list isn’t going to get done this year, given that I’m not an especially speedy worker.  But I do want to finish Car Quilt, Amistad and Broken Bottles by the middle of the year. And then I’ll see.  I’ll need another hand-pieced project once Car Quilt is finished, so it’ll be either Steampunk or Winter. Steampunk will be smaller and therefore more manageable, but Winter’s been planned for so long I’d really love to start it.  Plus I have the Winter fabrics, but I’ll need to shop for Steampunk, and so far this year I’ve been really rather well behaved where fabric purchases are concerned.

Winter quilt fabrics: three Hoffmann Bali Pops in Grasshopper, Sangria and Zinfandel, plus Fossil Fern yardage in three colours.

Winter quilt fabrics: three Hoffmann Bali Pops in Grasshopper, Sangria
and Zinfandel, plus Fossil Fern yardage in three colours.

There’s a whole raft of other sewing projects, but if it’s a question of priorities, quilts come first, always. So the needlepoint, dressmaking, bagmaking and cross stitch projects will have to wait.

And of course, let us not forget Mystery Woolly Thing, growing fast but still not large enough….

Back to the Car Quilt.  I’d like to get at least one side done by the end of tonight.

8 thoughts on “The List

  1. tialys says:

    I sometimes get overwhelmed with the amount of WIPs I have but then I stop and think about it and the only person putting any pressure on me to finish things is me so I get a grip and relax. I know you have certain projects that you have promised to people but I’m sure they wouldn’t want you getting het up about it and, if you start worrying too much, you won’t enjoy the projects anyway which is not the point of creating hand made gorgeousness at all.
    So there! You can stop feeling glum now that I have been so profound 🙂

  2. katechiconi says:

    You’re right, of course, and I’m the only one beating me up about this. I think I have to learn to say no, to myself and other people!

  3. Jule says:

    Or – you could hold a UFO lottery. 😉 Great ‘Winter’ fabrics!

    • katechiconi says:

      Aren’t they! I’m dying to get started with them, but too much else to do/finish first. The Lottery would be a great idea too, except that I know very well which ones ‘need’ to be done next, and I’m just wriggling because I want to work on something else!

  4. alisonsye says:

    Wow! You have achieved at lot. Looking at it like this puts everything into perspective. Looking forward to seeing how the mystery wooly thing turns out…

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s going to be exceptionally snuggly and cosy! And although it’s been years since I did any crochet, it’s coming back to me, and I’m making good progress.

Leave a Reply

