Small progress

It should have been a good sewing day. It wasn’t!

There were too many other things I had to get done: make bread, do 4 loads of laundry, unload, load and unload the dishwasher, make a pot of soup, entertain the Dowager, who dropped by unexpectedly for an hour… My nice gingerbread, which should have lasted us another couple of days, has taken a hammering.

Still, the top half of Happiness is completed. One strip of the lower section is done. I’ve got my paper piecing pattern sorted out, and will have to try it out soon. And I’ve finished the dark blue hexies for the Car Quilt. Now comes the fun job of sewing them all on… o joy.

Car quilt border half laid out so I can see how it'll look. Lots of hand sewing to do...

Car quilt border half laid out so I can see how it’ll look.
Lots of hand sewing to do…

Hopefully tomorrow will give me a bit more sewing time. After I’ve done the cleaning, weeding and folded all the laundry away. There’s a lot of catching up to do because we were away for a week. I’m just about ready for a project finish to perk me up!

More tomorrow, with hopefully better progress to report.

10 thoughts on “Small progress

  1. tialys says:

    Blooming housework!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Innit, as they used to say in Brixton. But yes, I agree, and if I were only a tiny bit more slovenly, I’d happily ignore some of the stuff that’s currently doing a visual nag… I mean, all that lovely sewing time wasted on cleaning, it’s just not right!

  2. I too wish I could ignore the housework, but I cannot sew in a mess! I wish I could sew on long car trips. I would have so many more productive hours, but I go green.

    • katechiconi says:

      My sewing room’s fairly tidy, it’s just the dust and grime you get everywhere in a tropical home when the doors and windows are open all the time and there’s been very little rain. Oh, and the perpetual washing up… I’m lucky I can sew in the car, but if I try and read, like you, I go green very quickly.

  3. wombatquilts says:

    Loving those Hexagons…loving.

Leave a Reply

