The Tree of Life 20: Done, done, done!

The nice thing about pain is that it feels so good when it stops.

I feel rather the same way about this quilt. It was painful while I was doing it, but it feels so good to see the finished thing, and know it’s finally done. I’m sort of proud of myself for pushing out of my comfort zone and achieving a respectable result on something that was a whole lot harder than anything I’ve done before. Every last stitch is done. It’s ready to be folded up and put away till it gets packed for our trip. Except of course that I need to keep it available for family bragging, since you guys out there in WordPress Land are the first to see it!

The finished quilt. I'm really pleased with it

The finished quilt. I’m really pleased with it

Back detail: reverse of the quilting

Back detail: reverse of the quilting

Detail showing 'cloud' quilting

Detail showing ‘cloud’ quilting

The label

The label

The binding went on like a dream. I’ve got three channels sewn into the binding at the top of the quilt, which  lie flat when not in use. And the label’s done too.

I need to give my hands a rest now. There’s been a lot of hand sewing in the last week or so, and the pills are not staying on top of the arthritis. So tonight I will luxuriate in idleness. The Husband is on night shift, so I will hog the entire sofa and all the cushions, I will eat dessert and watch TV.

Tomorrow and Tuesday are work days, so I won’t have much chance to look at Happiness, but I may do a little Car Quilt stitchery in my lunchbreak.

And now, I have an appointment with the TV remote control and the refrigerator…

31 thoughts on “The Tree of Life 20: Done, done, done!

  1. tialys says:

    Wow Kate, it’s absolutely beautiful.
    I’m not sure I realised before that it was a gift and you were going to be parting with it. What an amazing thing to have somebody make for you. Is it a surprise? I’m sure the recipient will be delighted with it. Rest those fingers now, watch telly and eat cake – you definitely deserve it.

    • katechiconi says:

      No, it’s not a surprise. I promised my brother a quilt, and as it’s his 60th birthday it had to be a special one. He told me what he wanted, I designed it, and we’re both pretty happy with the result! Am now settling down to a healthy slab of homemade gingerbread…

  2. Jule says:

    Gorgeous! You’ve clearly earned your evening off. 😀

  3. Anlina says:

    I know precisely zero about quilting but can appreciate the immense size of this project from conception to final thread. You are a clever clogs!

  4. It is truly wonderful. So rich with life!!! Well done and thanks for letting us vicariously quilt along side you. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Always a pleasure, and actually very helpful to have encouraging comments along the way! After a small break for cake and telly, I shall be starting something new very soon.

  5. Nanette says:

    beautiful Kate, this a project and a finish to be deservedly proud of. Did you pin the layers to hold them for quilting…enjoy your night off.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, I’m so glad you like it. Yes, I pinned the layers. Much grovelling on the floor… First I taped the backing down, then put the batting on top and smoothed that out, then the quilt top, and a safety pin about every handswidth apart.

  6. I can’t press the ‘like’ button enough times!

  7. What a beautiful thing !! I am impressed ! Congratulations !

  8. Sarah says:

    Congratulations, Kate! It’s GORGEOUS. Definitely an art piece. And again, I can’t believe how quickly you made it! Something to be cherished forever.

  9. I would also like a like-with-a-glitter-and-a-cherry-on-top button.

  10. Kirsten says:

    It’s an amazing achievement, you should be very proud of it. Hope you enjoyed your cake and telly.

  11. Ashley says:

    Congrats on such a fabulous finish!!! The quilting is insane!

  12. Lynda says:

    I look forward to the day when I can create something that is as beautifully inspired as this. Simply lovely, Kate!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much. I really appreciate all the kind and positive comments I’ve had for this quilt, which has intimidated me from the day I started it! It’ll be a while before I start something so complicated again…

Leave a Reply

