I’m Pinning!

Ooooh, this Pinterest lark is dreadfully addictive.

It’s a good job I’m having a few technical difficulties, or I’d be spending all evening cruising the web, pinning like crazy.  9 boards already, and I’ve barely scratched the surface! What I’m finding so interesting about it, though, is that having the images organised and catalogued like that helps me see recurring themes, colours, textures and ideas.  It’s sort of sorting out my preferences for me!

At present, I’m having to re-pin from other peoples’ boards, which is fine, but narrows the field somewhat. I’m on an iMac, running Safari as my browser, and I can’t seem to instal the Pin It button for my browser that would let me pin content directly from the internet. I did everything in the instructions, but the download did nothing. Anyone out there got any ideas? Until I get it, I can’t retrieve a lot of images I’ve previously sourced from the internet.

I’ve noticed that almost all Pinterest images are in portrait format.  I suppose this means that if you want to get pinned, you should ensure your images are portrait too…

Anyway, if you want to take a look at progress to date, my Pinterest account is also (original as ever) called talltalesfromchiconia.

Right, back to waiting for a response from technical help at Pinterest…. unless one of you out there helps me sort it out first!

23 thoughts on “I’m Pinning!

  1. tialys says:

    Got no idea about Macs I’m afraid – I’m a bit of an Applephobe and am often to be found cursing at my iPad. I can’t find you on Pinterest. Have you got a link? Here’s mine http://www.pinterest.com/thetialys/

  2. No idea about the technical stuff and stopping myself from taking a look at your account yet as I have a huge pile of editing work to do

  3. I joined Pinterest, then deactivated my account, trying to simplify life by culling gadgets and widgets I didn’t need. Now I am back and finding it a helpful way to store ideas for future projects.

  4. Nanette says:

    I like your boards, similar to mine….I get very excited when I get a message to say someone has pinned one of my pins……I know, need to get out more 🙂 here’s me http://www.pinterest.com/annabellemeadow/…..I know, not my name, but I like trying on other identities for size. I’m going to make lunch and leisurely browse your boards.

    • katechiconi says:

      Too early for lunch for me, I’m on ‘proper’ time up here. I’m also in the middle of quilting the background on the ToL, which I hope to finish today… The excitement is building! But hopefully I’ll get a little free time to have a look at yours and maybe do some pinning!

      • Nanette says:

        as opposed to us south of the border on ‘improper’ time 🙂 You’re really moving along on quilting the ToL….will you show us soon?

      • katechiconi says:

        Mexican time…. I finished quilting the sea this afternoon, and am going to make a start on the sky tonight if my work light is good enough. Quilting in grey blue on a blue grey background, marked in blue pencil. It’s almost doomed!

  5. Anlina says:

    I don’t do pinning but you might have better luck using firefox/mozilla as your browser. I had a lot of buggy troubles with safari and gave up on it!

    • katechiconi says:

      Safari works fine, it was the download that was the issue. But it’s fixed, and now I can Pin like a maniac if I want to. (If, she says…). Hope things are a little cooler and calmer in your neck of the woods. I spoke to the monsoon front about heading south but it had a hissy fit and headed for the Solomon Islands. Sorry….

  6. Kirsten says:

    That’s it now, you will lose hours to Pinterest without even realising it! With regards to the pinning issue – I don’t have the answer, but there is a pin from website option which I usually use by copying and pasting the URL of the picture I want. Doesn’t always work mind you and I have to save as picture and upload it that way.

    • katechiconi says:

      I got the solution from the Pinterest Help Centre guys. You go to the Pinterest basics page, select the link for Adding the Pin It Button to Your Browser. Instead of downloading the Pin It Button stuff, you go down to Pin It Bookmarklet. Click on that, and then drag the button you get up to your browser bar. It works a treat!

Leave a Reply

