Old dogs, new tricks

I’ve been at work today, so there’s no sewing to show.

It’s quiet at work right now, and I filled in the hours of inactivity with reading the nearest I could find to ‘The idiot’s guide to Pinterest’. Because I have lots of visual reference, and really, there’s no reason to keep that stuff in a folder on my computer when it can be kept elsewhere in a nice, neat, organised fashion, and where other people can look at it too if that’s what takes their fancy.

I freely admit that I have resisted joining the online community for a very long time. It’s not that I’m technology resistant, not at all, I have a Mac, a smart phone, a Kindle and all the other toys, it’s more that I had reservations about how public the participation would be, and I was concerned about privacy issues. I still don’t want to join Facebook. I don’t think the minute details of my day to day activities are of riveting interest, and I dislike the triviality (is that a word?) of most of what appears there. I know that Facebook can be an extremely useful marketing tool for businesses large and small. Maybe one day I’ll find I need it. But until then, I’m steering clear. Twitter’s another one I don’t see much point in. You may have noticed I usually need lots of words to cover what I have to say! Again, it’s too public, and perhaps a bit too easy to blurt out the first thing that occurs to you…

This blog, on the other hand, is heaps of fun. It’s a forum for meeting people with interests similar and dissimilar, the creative, the dedicated, the inspired and the eloquent. I kept a diary before I discovered WordPress. Now, I keep my blog, and post something most days. It has given me a community of friends and acquaintances that was lacking in real life, having moved to a city where I know very few people apart from my husband and his family.  The ever-fascinating stats seem to indicate that I’m not posting into the void, either.

So one day very soon,  talltalesfromchiconia will be putting up some image boards on Pinterest.

Now then, I need some better words than ‘stuff’, ‘ideas’ and ‘things’…..

18 thoughts on “Old dogs, new tricks

  1. heehee! will it include “dogs”?

  2. tialys says:

    I could have written this – it’s exactly how I feel about social media. Who cares what so and so had for dinner? However, it does have its uses and I sometimes drop by FB to see what’s going on. Pinterest is another thing. I use it as a memory board. The ‘favourites’ on my computer has been purloined by my daughter so it’s full of links to Manga and music videos and I can never find anything. So, I pin things I want to remember to my Pinterest boards. Tutorials, inspiring images, patterns I want to buy, decorating ideas – that sort of thing. Very useful!

  3. Never used Pintrest, but I do have some specific uses for Facebook – mainly around closed groups supporting my learning. I’m just selective in the way that I use it.
    I have a friend who refers to users of twitter as ‘twits’… I couldn’t possibly comment!!

  4. Kirsten says:

    Yay! I can’t wait to see your boards. I agree about Facebook. I am on there but I detest it. The things people write can be so . . . I don’t even know what word to use to describe it. Pathetic, maybe? I only log in about once every 2 weeks and then I am only using it to keep in touch with friends who have moved away. Actually it is more like friends I have moved away from! I also agree that it is too easy to vent on Twitter. It should be used with consideration.

    • katechiconi says:

      Keeping in touch with distant friends, OK, but I manage just fine with phone calls, emails, skype and texts. It’s not like we’re short of communication options without it! So I’ll be leaving it alone for the foreseeable.

      • Kirsten says:

        All of those are perfectly good alternatives, and much preferable. Trouble is I seem to know people who will only communicate via Facebook. #signofthetimes# 😦

  5. Jen Gardener says:

    I love it how there seems to be lots of people on WordPress who aren’t “tech savvy” and dislike “social media”. Seems quite ironic. Yet I too am one of these people. I don’t understand twitter. I do have facebook and find it good for sharing photos and organising events. I’ve attempted to use instagram but it all got too difficult. LinkedIN doesn’t seem to offer much except to clog up your email with “notifications”. Pinterest is one I’ve never even looked into, but I’ve been inspired by your description. I like the idea of keeping everything nice, neat and organised. Will definitely be on the lookout for your page Kate! (if that’s the right term!)

  6. Nanette says:

    Oh I absolutely agree about Facebook, I have joined but only so I can follow my community garden group and a charity doll making group. I am on Twitter, but only because my town floods, and you get the best updates from the SES via twitter! But Pinterest…love it for all the reasons already stated, I find it’s a great place to go to find inspiration too. But I laugh at my basic titles vs some of those I’ve seen. And, I’ve just found out that Office 2013 has a “section” called One Note which is similar to Pinterest, just not public, to keep ideas and info, so that’s an option now. Look forward to checking out your boards Kate

  7. anne54 says:

    Couldn’t agree more, especially about the blog. I find it allows me to have a better connection to all you wonderful folks than I can on FB. As for Pinterest — I am not on it, because I know that I will spend hours on it! It will become another fascinating diversion away from other things. Maybe the trick is to see it as an organisational tool. While I am having fun I can pretend that I am organising things!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m being quite disciplined about its use. It’s all too easy to chase down rabbitholes after some endless string of connections. If I want an image I search first Pinterest and then Google. Pinning from both is easy and quick, and it means I don’t have to remember which notebook I put something in, or print it out, or remember what website it came from. Considering how bad my memory is these days, all of these are major plus points! But it’s strictly for inspiration, and that’s how I use it.

Leave a Reply

