In the blink of an eye…

Oh. My. God.

I cannot express how totally impressed I am with this camera, and what a completely different creature it is from the mentally impaired digital FRED (F…..g Ridiculous Electronic Device) I have been using. Yes, yes, OK, I’ve had to plough through pages, pdfs, jpegs and various other file formats to work out what buttons to press, what dials to twiddle, what icons are what and how to download the images once I’ve taken them. But the pictures it takes…. I could cry at the waste of time that was my photography before. This post would be full of underscores, exclamation points and italics if I didn’t keep a firm rein on my excitement.

I have nothing new and exciting on the quilt front to show you. I did the garden stuff yesterday. The slice I baked this morning isn’t very pretty. So I had to go and find something exquisite to point my lens at, and take the close-up function for a test drive.

And here they are.

Ginger lily bloom

Ginger lily bloom

Close up

Close up

Blue Eyes

Blue Eyes (Evolvulus glomeratus)

Imagine my face almost completely consumed by an enormous grin… the detail’s crisp, the colours are gorgeous, the focal point is exactly where I told the camera I wanted it. Uploading the images isn’t quite as simple as it was with the old piece of junk, but it’s still pretty easy. And I get a whole suite of editing tools and fun stuff that I’m simply too scared to look at yet!

Right, off out to find something to take pictures of!

6 thoughts on “In the blink of an eye…

  1. inktramp says:

    pretty flowers! 🙂

  2. katechiconi says:

    They’re nice, aren’t they, even if they were merely photographic models on this occasion!

  3. tialys says:

    Lovely! But is that a Kate-shaped shadow??

  4. katechiconi says:

    Nope, that’s the corner of the patio roof. But I see what you mean!

  5. Very nice… it will be lovely to see the quilts in such sharp detail.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not sure my quilting will hold up to such close scrutiny, but it will be wonderful to have images in focus, the colours accurate and lots of scope for creative photography!

Leave a Reply

