Things to do on a rainy day

The Wet is finally here, and with some emphasis!

Mackay gets a large bath. Image courtesy of Bureau of Meteorology.

Mackay gets a large bath.
Image courtesy of Bureau of Meteorology.

Looking out of the window with European eyes, you’d think it was mid afternoon in February, somewhere in northern Europe: England, the Netherlands, France. It’s grey, gloomy, overcast, and the rain is almost solid. The gutters are gurgling and overflowing, there’s a river running through my desert garden, the banana tree has more water than it knows what to do with, and if I were in London at this moment, I’d be on the sofa in flannelette pyjamas, with a good book and a mug of hot chocolate. However, here, in addition to being massively wet, it’s also bloody warm. About 28C, to be exact. Not a day to be doing anything outside…

Left, sashing for Happiness. Right, squares for the Car quilt borders

Left, sashing for Happiness. Right, squares for the Car quilt borders

So I turned my attention to things inside. I’ve been holding forth with my rotary cutter, and the vertical sashing for the Happiness quilt is cut, plus I’ve cut all the 3″ squares for the border on the Car quilt. My fabric supplies of that one are a bit limited, so rather than make a narrow striped border, which will eat up a lot of fabric in seam allowances, I’m doing 4 patches, in 3″ squares. And it’s very dark outside, so I haven’t attempted any further hand quilting on the ToL, as I simply can’t see what I’m doing well enough.

And now for even more pleasurable stuff. My camera has been slowly dying, and it has now reached the point where it’s refusing to talk to my computer so I can’t upload any images. The Husband’s camera will talk to my computer, but I don’t like the photos it takes; they’re all either rather dark or badly over exposed when I use the flash. The most excellent Husband has therefore bought me a Proper Camera, my first ever. Behold!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not even out of the box yet.
I think I have a lot of reading to do…

Now, of course, I have to sit down and read the manual, and pray that I can retain all the information. I am over 50, after all, and as everyone knows, as soon as you start to get grey hair, your competence with any kind of technology just leaches away. Or so my younger acquaintances would have me believe… Personally, I don’t think I’m doing too badly on that front.

Excuse me while I go and play with my new toy…

18 thoughts on “Things to do on a rainy day

  1. Anlina says:

    Please send the rain down here! We are on evacuation alert with fires 4kms away in Warrandyte. Looks like they are blowing away from us but has been a high alert day!

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh Lord! I’d send it down there if I could. Fingers crossed that you stay safe and that the wind keeps blowing the other way. Keep me informed if you get the chance. K xxx

  2. tialys says:

    You will have great fun playing with your new camera. I must confess, I’ve never got to the end of my manual. I bought photography books, joined up for an online course but never got to the end of those either. Mostly, I just play around with it to see what it can do but I know I should go into it a lot more thoroughly if I want really good pics. You should get a tripod – doesn’t have to be an expensive one – because, when I can be bothered to use it, it does improve the quality of my product photos quite a lot.
    Apparently, the ability (and willingness) to learn new things deteriorates as we age partly due to the levels of dopamine dropping hence my fighting back by actively seeking out new things to learn – although my ongoing battle with the French language is probably taking up most of the dopamine I have left.

    • katechiconi says:

      One of my big problems is residual chemo-brain. I find it hard to retain information unless I can apply it and embed it that way. I get the feeling I’ll be taking photos with the manual beside me. I have a small table-top tripod, and it definitely helps, but a larger one for further away shots would be useful in the future.

  3. Yes, a tripod is a great help.

  4. Sorry for the bad weather! It wasn’t me! I did not sent it your way, ha ha!
    Hugs from a stormy, but sunny Netherlands!
    Esther

  5. Looking forward to pictures from your new camera… I’m sure they will be great for showing your beautiful creations.
    The rain continues here too, although our current temperature is around 6 degrees… good weather for working with yarn.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a complete indulgence, but it was getting to be such a struggle to take a decent photo. Now all I have to do is wrap my lame brain around the manual… I’m looking forward to trying it out tomorrow.

  6. Tracey R says:

    Have fun! Lucky you.

  7. Kirsten says:

    May I recommed editing your photos in Picmonkey. I usually use Photoshop but Picmonkey is accessible via the internet, is free to use and much simpler / less complicated. You can easily brighten any photos that are too dark, apply filters and text etc. Unless you are extremely lucky, there isn’t a photo in the world, professional or otherwise, that doesn’t need editing.

  8. katechiconi says:

    Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll look into it. Up to now, I’ve been using iPhoto on my Mac, which is fairly basic but does enable you to fiddle around with brightness and colour balance. The camera comes with editing software too: yet another thing to try and learn how to use! I don’t really want to buy any additional software so PicMonkey might be the solution if I can’t work the other thing out.

  9. Cath K says:

    I’m quite sure by the time I see u next u will have said camera all sorted out…perhaps I can bring over a couple of my manuals for u to read and fill me in…hehe…

  10. defensordelaverdad says:

    Reblogged this on Fabián.

Leave a Reply

