The Tree of Life 18: the first landmark celebration

Everything within the red circle is now quilted except for a little bit of background.

Nearly done. Photography was fun: it's a windy day!

Nearly done. Photography was fun: it’s a windy day!

Detail. See how the fruit and flowers and leaves puff out nicely?

Detail. See how the fruit and flowers
and leaves puff out nicely?

Time to have a quick break and a breather, and let my fingers stop aching! The hand quilting is a success. It’s not particularly pristine or regular, but it does make things puff out nicely, so the different elements have a small degree of dimension: the pears are rounded, the birds stand off the background a little, the tree trunk is ribbed.

The next stage is to go round the outside edge of the circle, round the distant birds and the fish, and then do the water ripples and clouds.  I’m going to keep it simple. I tried to get clever on the tree trunk, and I’m not particularly enthused about the result. It’s OK, so it’s staying, but I shouldn’t have tried for whirls…

The final stage is one of my favourites: labelling and binding. That’s a way off yet.

Short post today, it’s the Husband of Chiconia’s birthday, and the day belongs to him. I have baked cherry and peach pies, and his birthday cake is his favourite: carrot cake. It smells wonderful, and I confess I added a very small slug of rum to the batter, since it’s a celebration cake. Once it’s cool, it’s getting a chocolate glaze, which is what he likes instead of cream cheese frosting.

Tomorrow I’m going to allow myself to cut the sashing strips for the Happiness quilt…

11 thoughts on “The Tree of Life 18: the first landmark celebration

  1. tialys says:

    Felicitations Oh Husband of Chiconia. Carrot cake with chocolate topping?! How wondrous life is in your land.

    Great work on the hand quilting Kate – I love the way the design starts to come to life once those little stitches go in.

  2. You have inspired me to sign up to a hand-quilting class. I am sure I am doing it wrong. Stay tuned for news of blood and calluses.
    My husband also wants a carrot cake on his birthday. It is sometimes so easy to make them happy, isn’t it.

  3. Jen Gardener says:

    Looks awesome Kate! I have no idea how much work you must’ve put into this because I don’t know the first thing about quilting but I’m very impressed! Amazing detail – you could look at this for hours and still find new things.

    • katechiconi says:

      Wow, thank you for the kind words! It has been a lot of work, and there’s still a bit to go with the background quilting, but then I can trim it, bind it, label it, and it’s done!

Leave a Reply

