The Gardens of Chiconia 10

It’s been a while since I was able to get out there and take a look at all my green children.

Turns out, they’ve been doing fine without me! We’ve had a good bit of weather: first the cyclone, and then high winds and heavy rain off and on, so I haven’t got down to the long-overdue weeding yet. Perhaps in the next few days. But the neglect has not deterred anything.

Taller than me now

Taller than me now

First, the tropical garden. The banana, which was knee high when I put it in, is now taller than I am, and shows no sign of slowing down. It took a clobbering in Cyclone Dylan, but seems unperturbed, and continues to send out enormous leaf spikes on an almost daily basis. The trunk is now so thick that I can only just make my hands meet around it. It’s supposed to be 2 or 3 years till we’ll see any fruit, but in the meantime, I’m going to enjoy the sight of the huge, lush leaves and the sound they make rattling in the wind or when the rain is falling on them.

Nearly a tree

Nearly a tree

The Brugmansia (Angel Trumpet), which was getting gnawed by grasshoppers before Dylan, made some headway when all the little buggers were blown away. Again, it was knee high (or maybe less), and is now waist high  on me, and I’m 1.65m (5’5″). It went through a spell of dropping all leaves except those at the very top, but now new ones are sprouting up the trunk, and the trunk itself is thickening up. When it finally flowers, who knows when, they’re supposed to be a pale apricot colour and smell amazing.

Pretty pink flower spike

Pretty pink flower spike

I put in three ginger lily corms a few months ago. Nothing happened, and kept on happening, until a few weeks ago, when leaves began to appear. I went out yesterday, and there’s the start of a lovely pink flower spike. I don’t think it’s going to be too spectacular this first year, but as it gets older and the corm grows, it should make more leaves and flowers each year. They’re supposed to be very sweetly scented too.

Taking over the world!

Taking over the world!

The passionfruit, as always, is showing signs of being intent on world domination. Not only is it ramping all over my side of the fence, it has now invaded the neighbours. They are, fortunately, delighted as they love passionfruit and their back yard is all paved so they’d have nowhere to plant one. I keep having to nip out the growing tips to prevent everything else getting strangled, and to make the laterals thicken up. Hopefully next summer we’ll have fruit. It’s a Panama Gold, so the fruit shouldn’t be too hard to find among the foliage.

It's decided to live after all...

It’s decided to live after all…

Remember those childhood science experiments when you plant a carrot top and watch it take root and grow? Well, I plonked a cut pineapple top on the ground, watered it and snugged it in with some mulch. It’s growing. It took a while to decide the living quarters were acceptable, but those are new baby leaves down in the centre. It takes 2 years for a pineapple plant to produce fruit, so I’m not holding my breath here! But they are very ornamental, especially the ones with pink and green stripes in the leaves.

Succulent babies

Succulent babies

Round the corner in the desert garden, all the tiny leaves I snapped off the parent plant and stuck in a very well drained potting mix have taken off and are thriving. I’ve now doubled my aloe vera population, which is just as well, given how often I burn myself on the stove or the iron…

Tomorrow I should have some quilty stuff to show, but I’ve had to stop as the light isn’t good enough any more.

9 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 10

  1. defensordelaverdad says:

    Reblogueó esto en Fabián.

  2. tialys says:

    It’s always fascinating to see what you can grow in different climates. We have a banana plant but it gets back knocked every winter and then starts growing again from scratch so I’m not looking up recipes for banoffee pies to use up the glut!

    • katechiconi says:

      Just as well, I suspect, since the varieties that can survive frosts tend to be more ornamental than productive. On the other hand, we eat enormous quantities of bananas, so a tree will probably save us a packet once it gets going.

  3. I think you need to come to my garden with your magic touch. I have a brown thumb. In fact, I think I have all brown digits. I get excited if I can keep a houseplant alive for two months.

  4. katechiconi says:

    What have you got in the garden right now? Or is it all grass with a bit of hedge or the odd shrub? I love starting from scratch; you don’t feel the need to preserve well grown stuff you don’t like much if there’s nothing there to start with! And are you sub-tropical or warm temperate? Can I start playing with your garden long distance? The Husband has just remarked that I’m hopeless, getting excited about someone else’s garden thousands of kms away….

  5. I agree with Tyalys. I have a moonflower about to bloom any day now.

  6. katechiconi says:

    I love watching the things that take their own time about flowering. It’s like watching a child grow up: each day there’s something new to observe. And I’m so lucky in what I’m able to grow, but I’m impatient for the action to start. That’s the trouble when you put a garden in from scratch. It takes time…..

  7. Jen Gardener says:

    Green children – love it! Might have to steal that one 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I find they respond well to encouragement, shoot up with the correct nutrition and flourish and stand on their own two, er, roots if you treat them with affection, much like children…

Leave a Reply

