Zakka attack

Everyone’s doing it. I’m not going to start churning out zakka items like a mad woman, I don’t have time, but cute little handmade things are kind of nice to make and are great gifts.

I just needed a bit of a break from the Tree of Life. The entire tree is outlined, plus all the larger birds and the grass. I have to do some filling in on the grass, and quilt wood-grainy lines on the trunk of the tree. Then I go round the inner edge of the circle, and we’re ready for Landmark 1 Celebration.

So I dug out some bits and pieces and got busy. What you’re seeing is two sets of appliquéd tea towels, two drawstring shoe bags, and a pair of sock protectors.

A bit of zakka action. Tea towels, drawstring shoe bags and a pair of sock protectors.

A bit of zakka action.
Tea towels, drawstring shoe bags
and a pair of sock protectors.

The latter item is almost uniquely Australian.  In the northern hemisphere, a lot of outdoor work is done in long pants because of the weather. Down here, we like to catch the breeze on our legs, and any work person who is allowed to will wear shorts. Below that will be thick socks and work boots. And if you happen to be a person who has any involvement with dust, grass, dry plant material, soil, sand or other landscaping material, you’ll wear sock protectors over the top of your boots and sock cuffs. They prevent all sorts of rubbish going down the tops of your boots, sticking to your socks and generally causing discomfort. Normally these useful objects come in beige, khaki, dark green or navy. Very utilitarian, but not, well… pretty. So I thought I’d make an experimental pretty pair. They have to be made of quite tough material and of sturdy construction. They have to fit snugly without cutting off the blood supply. Whaddya think, eh? Girly sock protectors… I don’t think it’ll ever catch on, but someone may prove me wrong. Anyone out there want a pretty pair?

Amazing what fun you can have with some scraps, isn’t it?

13 thoughts on “Zakka attack

  1. Ah, if only we needed to be protected from dust… my Gortex gaiters are as close as I’m ever going to come to sock protectors here in the UK!

  2. tialys says:

    Sounds like a good idea to me. What’s that at the top of the photo that looks like a bikini top? Are they the sock protectors?

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, that’s right. Wide but short tubes of fabric, with elastic round the top that fits round the ankle. Think really, really short elasticated legwarmers! They’re absolutely brilliant when you’re mowing or strimming or digging over soil.

  3. Kirsten says:

    I’ve never heard of Zakka before. I just googled / wikki-ed it. Not sure I’m any the wiser . . .

    • katechiconi says:

      To quote one of my books: “Zakka is a Japanese term meaning ‘many things’, it’s all about the little things that improve your home and appearance”. I take it to mean tasteful embellishment and decoration of everyday objects, making small and useful items and hand crafting gifts.

  4. fabulous word, idea and over sock protectors! 🙂

  5. I am going to struggle to shake the mental picture of the local lawn-mowing guys wearing frilly, girly sock protectors instead of the usual khaki ones!

Leave a Reply

