Car Quilt progress

The central section is complete, hurray!

The completed centre. It's basically a medallion quilt, since the rest is all borders.

The completed centre.
It’s basically a medallion quilt,
since the rest is all borders.

It’s about 33″ x 36″, which is too small for anything useful. It’s basically one jelly roll plus a fat quarter or so of the beige neutral that goes in the centre and between each flower. The plan from here on is firstly to add a border of dark inky blue hexagons all round. Then, I’ll be making a pieced border out of the fat quarters I have of all the same fabrics. It’s going to be 3 strips vertical, three strips horizontal, alternating all the way round. Making it fit will be a tiny bit tricky because of course the central panel isn’t square. Look out for some underhand business tweaking widths and lengths… After that… well, I haven’t got that far yet. Let alone think about how I’ll be quilting it. That’s going to be tough, because the fabric is all quite heavy and a dense weave. Maybe – shock horror! – I’ll make it a tied quilt instead. Hmm. Definitely something to consider.

So, the next job is the whole bunch of dark blue hexies I have to make and then sew onto the edges of this panel. I’m blowed if I’m going to make a whole string and then sew that on: much too hard. I’ll add them one by one as I make them, which will be a maximum of three 1″ seams at a time.

(By the way, the hand quilting on the Tree of Life is roaring along well, you just can’t really see anything so there’s no point in posting until I have a landmark to celebrate – probably by the end of the week.)

Excuse me while I go and rip out all the basting and take the templates out. One of my favourite bits!

7 thoughts on “Car Quilt progress

  1. tialys says:

    This looks lovely. Do quilts necessarily have to have a use? Can they not just sit there looking beautiful? I hope so.
    I have tried my hand at hexagons. I bought lots of pre-cut little hexagon cards and fabric and thought it would be a portable project that I could work on now and then. After about 20, I sort of put them away and forgot about them (until you reminded me) but I do intend to recommence one of these days. I wonder how many half completed hexagon stashes lurk in the world of quilting.

  2. katechiconi says:

    I’m glad you like it. The finished thing probably won’t be adorning any beds in any functional sense. It’s called the Car Quilt because I’ve been doing a lot of sewing in the car on long trips. But I think it may even end up living on the back seat of the car long term. I find I can churn out the hexagons without much thought – I’m very lazy and don’t cut them to shape, I just wrap a square around the template card and stitch it through the card. Works just fine! I think the world must be full of half-finished hexies. I’d like to give them all a good home – a huge and fabulous scrap hexagon quilt.

  3. Kirsten says:

    Huh, I thought it was called the car quilt because it was meant for the car rather than because that’s where it has been made! I’ve often looked at jelly rolls and wondered what on earth you are supposed to do with them (apart from log cabin quilting). They seem such an odd size.

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re actually heaps of fun to use. If you have a bit of a rummage through my Chiconian Quilts page, the black and white ‘Go the Pies’ quilt was made from a jelly roll plus some spares. They also make nice 9-patch blocks without all the cutting rigmarole, and you know they’re exactly the right size.

      • Kirsten says:

        Just had a peek – cool! It creates an interesting zig-zag pattern. Food for thought. Maybe I won’t be so quick to dismiss them in future.

  4. k cama says:

    This video is the perfect (although long) way to finish a grandmother’s flower garden quilt. I’m working on one made in the 30’s but never finished. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwPe_84GBfY

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks for the recommendation, I shall take a look. I have already made one large and beautiful GFG quilt, which is on my bed now, by appliqueing the whole thing onto a straight edge border, which I then finished with a narrow band and prairie points. That was long too, but I love the result. If you want to see the result, check out the Chiconian Quilts page.

Leave a Reply

