Going global

Ok, can someone please explain what it is about this blog that might appeal to someone in Botswana, or Ecuador, or Montenegro, or Ghana or Korea?

I love the stats page (who doesn’t?) but I sometimes find myself totally flummoxed by who’s been taking a look.  How did they find me? What were they searching for? By what weird and circuitous route did they find the blog of a middle aged woman with a quilting habit and a very small garden? You’re very welcome to my blog, but I wish I knew what it was that interested you in the first place.

Below is the list of countries that have taken a look, and how many visitors from each. Some of them, of course, are completely comprehensible: Australia, the UK, France, the Netherlands, where I have friends and family; Barbados, where my oldest friend lives; the US, where I’m gaining new friends.  But with others, I wonder.  Is there a search phrase in Arabic, or Greek, or Russian that brought them to this blog? I wish sometimes these visitors would say hello or comment, so that I could respond…

What’s your most exotic foreign visitor? Have you made any friends in unusual faraway places through your blog?

Country Views
Australia FlagAustralia 1,270
United States FlagUnited States 929
United Kingdom FlagUnited Kingdom 292
Canada FlagCanada 104
France FlagFrance 98
Germany FlagGermany 79
South Africa FlagSouth Africa 68
Netherlands FlagNetherlands 36
New Zealand FlagNew Zealand 26
Spain FlagSpain 22
Ireland FlagIreland 20
Barbados FlagBarbados 11
Sweden FlagSweden 10
Sri Lanka FlagSri Lanka 10
Greece FlagGreece 9
Japan FlagJapan 7
Philippines FlagPhilippines 7
India FlagIndia 6
Singapore FlagSingapore 6
Brazil FlagBrazil 4
Italy FlagItaly 4
Egypt FlagEgypt 4
Portugal FlagPortugal 4
Israel FlagIsrael 3
Norway FlagNorway 3
Switzerland FlagSwitzerland 3
Korea, Republic of FlagRepublic of Korea 3
Montenegro FlagMontenegro 2
Botswana FlagBotswana 2
Belgium FlagBelgium 2
Malaysia FlagMalaysia 2
Turkey FlagTurkey 2
Ghana FlagGhana 1
Hong Kong FlagHong Kong 1
Indonesia FlagIndonesia 1
Serbia FlagSerbia 1
Morocco FlagMorocco 1
Thailand FlagThailand 1
Martinique FlagMartinique 1
Qatar FlagQatar 1
Russian Federation FlagRussian Federation 1
Lithuania FlagLithuania 1
Bulgaria FlagBulgaria 1
Jamaica FlagJamaica 1
Peru FlagPeru 1
Mexico FlagMexico 1
Ecuador FlagEcuador 1
Saudi Arabia FlagSaudi Arabia 1
Denmark FlagDenmark 1
Croatia FlagCroatia 1
Dominican Republic FlagDominican Republic 1
16 thoughts on “Going global

  1. I have had hits from all over. The most exotic? Saint Kitts and Nevis perhaps, or maybe Brunei Darussalam (had to look that one up on the map). However, one or two are more understandable – one of my Australian followers, for example, moved to Peru a few months ago, so I’m getting lots more hits from there now.
    I also wonder why some countries are so poorly represented, for example Ireland (small population I suppose) and France (even though I do read and comment on some French blogs as my French is passable).

    • katechiconi says:

      Tonight, in addition to Aus, the UK, France and the US, I have Botswana, Greece and Brazil.I do find it interesting. What on earth are they typing into their web browser that has the solution Snail of Happiness or Talltalesfromchiconia? And wouldn’t it be nice if they said hello instead of just going away…

  2. wombatquilts says:

    Impressive stats and fabulously varied.

  3. NikkiM says:

    Hi Kate
    I find a lot of these people are ex-pats ie Rusia and Saudi Arabia.
    Love
    Nikki

  4. Monica says:

    Ha! Yes I’ve had some odd countries pop up, I think it’s possibly due to search words/google searches. I haven’t made any connections though (beyond Australia), as I don’t have much time to read and comment on others’ blogs.

    • katechiconi says:

      What puzzles me is how they come up with my blog in a search when they’re not even using the same alphabet! Russia, Greece, Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia… Still, happy to be getting the coverage!

  5. tialys says:

    It’s phenomenon of the search engine. As you probably know, it’s amazing what will turn up when you put something into a search engine. Also, the images from your blog will probably go into Google Images and people may click onto your blog from there. Who knows? I have friends that I actually know in real life who tell me they read my blog but they never actually comment on it so what hope is there for getting a comment from a stranger from Botswana.
    Love from France 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re right of course. Most of my family don’t bother or only follow/comment on the odd occasion. I get much better feedback from fellow bloggers who know how it works. And it doesn’t help that you can’t Like a post unless you have a WordPress account, only comment. Good night from Australia 🙂

  6. Jule says:

    Nepal and Cambodia on From The Boudoir, Iraq on The UFO Garage. But the strangest stats are definitely with my Low German blog – Brazil, Thailand, Kenya and so on. The Netherlands and Belgium are understandable – we share a lot of words (most were looking for ‘teeknen’). But Poland, Chile, Russia and the likes – no idea what they were looking for.

  7. Kirsten says:

    Have you looked at your search term stats? Sometimes that tells you what people are looking for when they come across your blog. A word of warning though – it isn’t always what you are expecting. People look for some weird stuff on the internets!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I looked. Most of the time it says Search Terms Unknown. Which would make sense when you think about it, especially if the search isn’t in English. Today’s exotic viewer is from the Laotian People’s Republic…

Leave a Reply

