Watching and waiting

It’s been an odd kind of day.

On the one hand, we’ve been trying to keep things as normal as possible. Shopping, laundry, cooking, a trip to the movies. On the other, we’ve got the news on a lot, we check the Bureau of Meteorology website every couple of hours, and we’re just waiting. And waiting. If that mess out there in the Coral Sea gets organised and turns just a bit further south, we’re going to cop a Category 1 cyclone, the first of the year. I love the BoM. It produces high quality graphics, forecasts and regular warnings when there is something up. We’re ready if it comes, but I suspect it’s going to cross the coastline north of us, and all we’ll get is gale force wind and rain.

The following photos are courtesy of the BoM:

That's a baby cyclone

That’s a baby cyclone

Here it comes...

Here it comes…

Time to hurry up and wait. But  you notice the odds are quite high

Time to hurry up and wait. But you notice the odds are quite high

Lark

Lark

Cameo

Cameo

Anyway, the other thing that happened today is that my Amy Butler charm packs arrived.  They are SO pretty, I had to rip the package open and spread them out and admire them.  And then I photographed them so that I can gloat right here and you can see what I’m gloating about. Sorry about the not terribly good photos, the camera is bleaching out the images quite a lot, so the last few days’ photos are a bit pallid.

There’s only one downside to charm packs, and that is that you don’t get the whole of a large scale pattern. There’s a couple of prints in there that just have tiny scraps of a whole other colour on one edge.  I have a total of 96 squares, so I’m going to supplement with 4 squares of something from my stash and make a quilt 10 x 10 squares, sashed with white so the colours sing instead of distracting from each other.

Anyway, it’s time to batten down the hatches for the night. Next Cyclone report is 5am tomorrow morning...

14 thoughts on “Watching and waiting

  1. tialys says:

    Good luck and be safe!

  2. I love a good synoptic chart… not so much what they are showing. Fingers crossed it passes to the north.

    • katechiconi says:

      So far so good. It looks as if Townsville’s going to get a pasting and we’ll just get torrential rain and gales. But the direction can change any time, so we’re staying with the forecasts for now.

  3. holy crap – you can sit there and take pictures of bits of material while one of those babies is pointing itself at you??///

    • katechiconi says:

      Yup. Nothing I can do, and it’s a Category 1. If it was a Category 4 or over, I’d be packing the ute right now for evacuation to high ground inland. As it is, I think we’re going to miss the worst of it, which will hit well to the north, and all we’ll get is gales and rain. Besides, the fabrics are gorgeous…

      • Fair enough. And those fabrics are kind of absorbing… Does it look like it’s bypassed you by now?.

      • katechiconi says:

        Sadly, no. It’s getting closer! The track has gone from being well to the north to being further south and closer to us with every new bulletin issued. Still only Category 1, though. I’m just passing the time usefully by appliqueing the Tree of Life leaves. Now all the storm prep is done, I need something to distract me.

  4. Kirsten says:

    Amy Butler fabric is so pretty!

  5. I am a big BOM fan too. I once forgot to check the radar and my poodle-mix came home from our walk looking like a soaked cotton-wool ball. I hope the cyclone stays away. Enjoy playing with your fabric!

  6. Tracey R says:

    Hope you are ok up there.

    • katechiconi says:

      We’re OK. All preparation done, supplies laid in. We’re watching the forecasts and advisories on BoM constantly. It’s windy, howling out there, but we’re comfortable and well provisioned. It’s due to make landfall on Friday morning – happy birthday to me, I’m getting a Cyclone this year!

Leave a Reply

