Triple Trouble 4

… and the last one’s done.

Lilac Rolling Star.  There are all sorts of memorable scraps in this one!

Lilac Rolling Star. There are all sorts of memorable scraps in this one!

This lilac Rolling Star block is by far the most complicated thing I’ve ever attempted in patchwork.  I’m way, way out of my comfort zone, so I’m especially happy that it turned out reasonably well.  The eagle-eyed among you will detect that some of my points don’t exactly match, that there are two random seams near the centre because I misjudged the size of the piece I needed, and that the outside edge is distinctly wobbly.  But you know what?  I don’t care!  All together now: “Finished is better than perfect!”

For Christmas, my lovely family-in-law have given me Spotlight gift cards. For those who don’t know what this means, Spotlight sells dress, quilting, curtain and upholstery fabric, homewares and a huge range of craft items. So today, I went in, trailed by my faithful pack-horse (aka the Husband) and went a little crazy. I’ve bought three different white fabrics for the three baby quilts, a couple of fat eighth packs, a few fat quarters, a length of fabric to make a new top, a couple of racks for spools of thread and bobbins, a new pack of pins, and last but not least, a brand new iron. Now, there’s nothing wrong with my existing one. It works just fine, but it get cursed on a regular basis because while I’m using it the cord constantly gets tangled up in the hooks that hold my rulers on the edge of the sewing table. This new iron avoids that problem. It’s cordless, and quite a lot lighter than the other one. And best of all, it cost only $10 in the sale.

Now, my teeny weeny sewing room looks like a bomb hit it. Tonight I have a few small jobs to do, and they have to be quiet ones as the Husband is working tonight and is getting some sleep before heading out at around midnight. But tomorrow, I’m going to have a huge tidy up so I’m clear, clean and tidy for the start of the New Year. Think of it as a detox, and you won’t be far wrong.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and are looking forward to the New Year. It will be the 10th anniversary of my arrival in Australia next year, so I’m hoping to have a small celebration at the end of July to mark the occasion. I have a few other fun things planned – I feel it’s important to start a new year not only with difficult resolutions, but with things to look forward to as well.

What’s on your work table just now?

4 thoughts on “Triple Trouble 4

  1. It may not be ‘perfect’ but it’s beautiful… my favourite of the three, I think.
    On my work table today is one of the nightdresses I’m making – all cut out and pieces marked up… very rare for me to be making clothes!

    • katechiconi says:

      For me it’s a toss up between the orange and this one. Not that I don’t love the green one too, but everyone has to have a favourite. Tomorrow I must start assembling the quilt tops with their spinning out fragments of colour. Remind me to make something nice and simple next time. And I look forward to seeing your nighties.

  2. Nanette says:

    I have come stalking you from Celi’s The Kitchen’s Garden blog, I saw you mention something about the tropics and your fast growing garden, and so have come to check you out. I love your paper pieced blocks, you’ve done a great job with them. I have just finished a paper pieced Yoda…from Star Wars….to give as a gift card holder for my son for Christmas. It turned out ok…recognisable. I now have the mess to clean up… Look forward to seeing your quilts finished.

    • katechiconi says:

      How kind you are! I can see all sorts of defects with them, but I suppose I should be happier considering they’re my first attempt. Yes, I live in northern Queensland, in the tropics. Now that Christmas is over, we’re bracing ourselves for the start of the Wet. That’ll make the temperatures fall a lot, but it’s an awful lot of water falling from the sky!

Leave a Reply

