Deck the halls….

… with boughs of palm tree!

The Christmas table, awaiting for the guests

The Christmas table, awaiting the guests

The sun beating down on the garden

The sun beating down on the garden

We’ve laid palm fronds over the clear part of the patio roof, an excellent way of keeping the hot sun off the Christmas table, and an ingenious solution I owe to the Husband.  As you can see, we’re not going the holly and ivy route.  It’s so hot that we’ve had to resort to keeping the aircon on in the house and blowing it out of the window at the patio, using a fan.  Extreme, but otherwise we’d expire.  The food’s all cold, the drinks are all iced, and hopefully by 3pm the temperature will start to reduce as the sun gets a little lower and ducks behind the palm trees.  I watered the garden at 6am, and you’d think it hadn’t seen a drop for weeks, judging by the look of it. Everything’s thickly mulched with sugar cane trash, which works very well.

The family’s arriving in an hour, and I’m going to try and finish the second half of the Rolling Star block for the third baby quilt. But I think somehow I won’t make it. I keep seeing things I need to do.

So, I’m calling it a day for Christmas. I hope you all have the Christmas you dream of, that everything goes well, and that you are mentally restored (even if physically is asking too much!) by time spent with friends and family.  I’ll catch up with you in a day or two, once the washing up is done!

Signing off from tropical north Queensland, 

Kate

12 thoughts on “Deck the halls….

  1. Sarah says:

    What a fun treat to read your post as the children have just been tucked into their beds, one is asleep, hopefully the other is soon too, so that Santa can start putting out the gifts. We had a tiny dusting of snow at dinnertime so that it made the Christmas excitement build even more. Merry Christmas to you! It looks like a wonderful tropical Christmas dinner will be had.

    • katechiconi says:

      Later… it WAS wonderful, no-one argued, no-one drank too much, no-one whined, no-one complained. Everyone was happy, appreciated the food and their gifts, and best of all, they all left in good time to allow us to have a snooze in the afternoon! Merry Christmas to you and yours, and I hope it’s everything you dream of.

  2. Everything looks so nice. Merry Christmas!

  3. Jen says:

    Looks lovely! Merry Christmas xxx

  4. Hope all the washing up is done now… I’m writing this whilst our dinner is still in the oven. Strangely, the sun is shining even here!
    Merry Christmas x

  5. It looks so festive and exotic. What a contrast here. On Christmas Eve I dug up frost-hardened rutabagas and Jerusalem artichokes, plus picked the last Brussels sprouts, all to make roasted vegetables. It was windy and snowing, but I love the cold weather. I’ll stay warm, you stay cool!

    • katechiconi says:

      I had to laugh during a Skype conversation with my sister in France. She told me she had no problems with fridge or freezer space over Christmas. When I asked why, she replied that she just put things on the windowsills and they stayed perfectly chilled or frozen, depending which one she used!

Leave a Reply

