Triple Trouble 2

Woo hoo!  This is easier than I thought!

I started with what looked like the easiest one, and although I know I’m sewing to the wrong side of the paper template, I’m doing what works for me. On the printed side, I can see the lines more easily, and it just seems to flow more easily through my slightly damaged brain. So, the first colour block is finished, the Zeppelin. I had to unpick the very first line I sewed. I’d sewn the fabric on upside down. After that, I ‘measured once and cut twice’, and no more mistakes occurred. Which is just as well, because I was using a short stitch length to increase the perforations in the paper from the needle. Short stitches = more unpicking as well as = easier tearing away of the paper. Not that tearing away the paper was a ball, but it could have been a lot worse. There are a lot of long thin points on this one which made it difficult; the others will be easier. It’s nice, isn’t it? It certainly zings!

Orange Zeppelin block. Not too wonky for my first go at paper piecing!

Orange Zeppelin block. Not too wonky for my first go at paper piecing!

The Husband is on night shift today. There’s nothing riveting on the telly, so I may just pluck up the courage to do a second one. It’s going to have to be Circle of Geese in green. The last one, Rolling Star, is another pointy-piece frenzy, and I think I’ll wait for daylight/a night’s sleep/fresh inspiration before I start that one.

Have a good day, my friends.

4 thoughts on “Triple Trouble 2

  1. Are you sure you are sewing on the ‘wrong’ side? If you can see the lines, it is probably all as it should be. Not that it matters – it is obviously working for you!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m pretty sure it’s the wrong side, because I’m sewing onto the printed side, not on the back of it, which is what all the books/tutorials say to do. I can’t get my chemo brain to wrap around that, so I’m doing it ‘wrong’. But as you say, it’s working for me!

Leave a Reply

