And another one…

It must be the season of goodwill to all men, because I’ve had another award nomination.

Versatile Blogger logo

Versatile Blogger logo

This time, the industrious, talented and eloquent Gardener Jen has nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award.  Thank you so much, and may your garden flourish and be forever green!  I’ve enjoyed reading about Jen’s forays into gardening, her recipes and her thoughts on a variety of subjects, so she certainly deserved this award herself.

My posts are on a range of subjects, and I try to ring the changes a bit, so I suppose Versatile is a reasonably accurate word, and I’m certainly a blogger. But I’m chiefly happy to receive this nomination, because it gives me an excuse to bring to the attention of a wider audience some of the blogs I’ve been enjoying. There are so many blogs out there which have amazing things to say and show, and which really deserve to be better known, and that’s why I do the homework. I’m not going to nominate 15, since I don’t follow enough blogs to nominate different people for different awards, and I do feel that the blog should fit the award. Not to mention that nominating the same ones over and over would quickly produce reactions other than delight… Some of them I’ve followed for a while, some are new and exciting discoveries. I hope you enjoy visiting their blogs and seeing what they write about.

There is, of course, no obligation to do anything about the nomination unless you’d like to. So, without further ado, my nominations are:

The Unorthodox Epicure

Life on the Farmlet

Sarah Quilts

Quilts from the Attic

Nice Piece of Work

Sew What? Sew Buttons!

Buzy Day

Factotum of Arts

Darling Mushroom

Pink Rose Bakery

And now I have to think up another 7 interesting things to tell you about myself.  Having had to serve up 14 of them so far in the last couple of months, it’s getting a bit tricky to be original, but here goes.

1) I once guessed the meaning of triskaidekaphobia in a game of Trivial Pursuit.  Sometimes it helps to have had a classical education. And it was a match-winning point, so I had to step up and produce the answer!
2) My favourite gemstone is the emerald.  You can keep your boring red, white and blue stones. Green’s the one.
3) I have double jointed fingers and can tie them in knots as a party trick.  It’s a bit gross to look at, but is always a hit with anyone under 20.
4) My favourite movie: impossible to choose between about 6. And I’d rather read, anyway.
5) The book I have owned longest is Kim by Rudyard Kipling. I still love it and read it occasionally. How long? 47 years. It’s essentially a sticky tape book with  very frayed and yellow pages…
6) I’d like to have the time to do some serious embroidery, but the garden, the quilts, the reading, the cooking, the household, the job and the Husband all get in the way of starting a new hobby.
7) I am slowly getting over an utter hatred of custard. Back when I was on chemo, my mouth was so raw there was very little else I could eat. For months. Afterwards, just the smell would make me want to barf: overload AND association.  Now, two  years later, I can eat it without nausea, but it’s still not heaps of fun.  And I used to love it, so I’m persisting!

There, that wasn’t too painful.  Job done.

7 thoughts on “And another one…

  1. Congratulations! You deserve it for your lovely blog

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! But I think I’m going to call a halt to the award activity. 3 is enough, and it’s quite time consuming. I need to get stuck into to the tree roots, and got very little done today.

  2. Lynda says:

    You are so sweet, Kate! Thank you for thinking of me. 🙂

  3. AWESOME!!! I think you are a star award winner! Your great work just keeps us coming back for more!

  4. Jen Gardener says:

    Industrious, talented and eloquent? Thanks Kate! I like that description! Very flattering of you. Nice post too. I too have double jointed fingers. Never seems to get old that one 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I love the expressions of horrified fascination as I show that I can bend just the top joint of my fingers… and the chorus of ‘eeeuw!!’ And the description, of course, is nothing but the truth…

  5. […] while ago Kate over at Tall Tales from Chiconia very kindly gave me the Versatile Blogger Award. And I haven’t done anything with it. How […]

Leave a Reply

