Tree of Life part 4: the Circle

I left you, dear readers, contemplating the vision of me crawling around on the kitchen floor…

I finally got the background taped down and straight, a pin in the centre and my string and pencil doing their thing.  Once the pencil line was complete, I started pinning the bias tape down.  The problem is not going to be the outside of the curve, but the inside, where rather than stretching the edge to fill the curve, I’m going to have to ease in extra fullness. I’ll just have to take it slowly and carefully, and not let my excessive impatience take over.

Keeping the stitches as small and invisible as possible

Keeping the stitches as small
and invisible as possible

It’s not too hard to make the stitches nice and small and even; I’m using a fine needle and fine cotton thread, and the tape itself is quite thin and manageable.  What is tricky is keeping the curve smooth, to prevent ‘flat’ sections. On a circle of that scale, it would be all too easy, and it’s the sort of thing the eye immediately picks up on. I’m becoming an increasing fan of the bias strip, which I’m fully prepared to admit is a tiny bit tragic.

I’ve had to be careful not to cause puckers by pulling the thread too tight, or draw the background fabric up too much, otherwise it’ll be baggy in places and contracted in others, which will not look at all nice. So far, so good.

Outside edge finished. Now to get the inside edge as smooth...

Outside edge finished. Now to get the inside edge as smooth…

The circle in place. No flat spots that I can see, and no puckering

The circle in place. No flat spots that I can see, and no puckering

So I finished this evening with the outside edge appliqued down, and the inside edge pinned, ready to do tomorrow. Only 5 metres (16ft) of stitching to go…

The moment of truth approaches.  The tree, leaves, grass, birds, fruit flowers, and everything else in the circle must be drawn to scale.  

I’ve got this far, I can do that too.

6 thoughts on “Tree of Life part 4: the Circle

  1. Wow. wow, wow… looks great!

  2. Anlina says:

    That just looks like torture to me! Nice circle!

  3. Tracey R says:

    Fantastic! You can do anything . Will you be able to wash it with the red on it ?

    • katechiconi says:

      Don’t know – I’m putting off the colour fastness test, because I’m afraid it might leak! I’ve got a scrap left, so I’m going to slosh it around in some cold soapy water and see what happens. I have a whole box of colour catcher sheets in case it goes a bit pink but if it goes very pink I’ll get it dry cleaned and cross my fingers!

  4. katechiconi says:

    Already on standby! I did the colour test. It’s fine if the water’s cold, and just the tiniest faintest tinge of pink if it’s hot. So I shall wash it cold with the whole box of colour catchers.

Leave a Reply

