The waters are rising

No, we aren’t having a flood here, despite the fairly torrential thunderstorm we had this morning.

The bottom of the sea! Now I can see how large the quilt is going to be.

The bottom of the sea!
Now I can see how large the quilt is going to be.

The waters I mean are those in the Tree of Life quilt. The bottom row of 9 blocks is finished, and wonder of wonders, 99% of the seams match up. This is not  usually the case when I’m working fast, and I shrug it off, since perfection is reserved for the Almighty and I’ll content myself with getting it done.  However, I find that the more quilts I make, the more particular I’m getting, and even more so now that they’re out there under the public gaze, so to speak.

Two more rows of 9 blocks to do, and I’ll be halfway through the background.  Once the Sea section is done, I’ll set out the Sky half above it on the design wall, and away we go again.  And then after that, the tricky stuff starts.  I’m grateful that at least this quilt isn’t a queen or even double size. It’s going to make working on it in my small space a lot easier.  I’ll show you what I mean:

Left side of the sewing room, with the 'design wall' hanging from a pole across the top of my bookshelves

Left side of the sewing room, with the ‘design wall’ hanging from a pole across the top of my bookshelves

Right side of the sewing room, my desk and computer. What you don't see is the huge cupboard to the right of my desk, which houses my stash...

Right side of the sewing room, my desk and computer. What you don’t see is the huge cupboard to the right of my desk, which houses my stash…

My work room is about 2.7m wide (around 8’6″) and 4m long (about 13′). Into this space I have crammed two tables, my computer and printer, a set of floor to ceiling shelves about 3m or 10′ long, a huge oak cedar-lined cupboard for my fabrics, a typist’s chair, an easy chair for the Husband, an ironing board, my sewing machine, tool box and a couple of lamps. Oh, and a few other bits and pieces of course, but that’s the main contents.  The ironing board gets used a LOT as a subsidiary table/ cutting surface/ dumping ground/ quilt rolling area.  But I’m truly grateful to have this room to call my own. It’s air conditioned, comfortable, I know where everything is and can reach it, and the Husband visits frequently when I’m working or blogging, and listens to my thoughts, comments on my writing and keeps me company.

Cherry pies before

Cherry pies before

Cherry pies after

Cherry pies after

Hurry up with the photo, someone wants his pie!

Hurry up with the photo,
someone wants his pie!

One final braglet.  I made a couple of cherry pies this morning, and they were.so.good!  Canned dark cherries in a medium syrup, which I thickened with arrowroot, encased in a sweet, buttery shortcrust pastry, baked till golden and served drowned in a small lake of cream. Life is too short for low fat dessert.

Leave a Reply

