The Car Quilt

Perhaps I’m being a bit previous here, but I did a good bit of hand sewing in the car on the way down, and that packet of pre-cut hexagon papers is coming in handy….

Since we spend quite a lot of time in the car, it seems likely I’ll be continuing to assemble my hexagons while I’m in the passenger seat.  I had a jelly roll, and some matching fat quarters of fabric.  The jelly roll has been cut into 2.5″ squares and stacked in a small box.  Thread, scissors, needle case and papers go into another box, and as the kilometres roll by, I crank out the basted hexagons until I’ve made six of each fabric colour/print, plus a centre.  Once the sewing kit box is full, I start to assemble the flowers.

Look what I did! Just three of the 10 flowers I made on the drive down from Mackay. At this rate I'll be out of hexie papers before I get home..

Look what I did! Just three of the 10 flowers
I made on the drive down from Mackay.
At this rate I’ll be out of hexie papers
before I get home..

And then it all starts again.  I can talk, listen to music, chat on the phone and look at the countryside as I sew, so it’s a good use of time. And maybe the Car Quilt will truly end up being the Car Quilt, having a permanent home on the back seat. Or maybe it’ll be too nice to leave there.  We’ll have to wait and see.  The colours are very pretty; rich dark blues, greens and reds, gold flecks and swirls, olives and azures.  Sort of Islamic art meets Chinese textiles.  Hmm. Put like that it doesn’t sound so flash, but it’s pretty.  I’ve only got enough jelly roll for the central section, so it’s going to be a medallion quilt, using the fat quarters for the outer borders.  I’ve got some dark blue on navy print fat quarters to make some sashing in there somewhere.  I don’t really have a formed idea of how it’s going to be, but it will reveal itself to me as it grows.

Short post today. I have a technical problem with photos and my laptop, so the post I wanted to put up is going to have to wait till I can sort that out.  Basically, on my desktop computer – or my sister’s, which I’m using now – I can upload images without trouble, but my lappie keeps telling me the file is empty.  I shall have to see what Support suggests…

So, that’s your lot for today.  More tomorrow, probably.

2 thoughts on “The Car Quilt

  1. Tracey R says:

    Another amazing creation !

Leave a Reply

