The Gardens of Chiconia 5

Today in the Gardens of Chiconia…

Our new, old, water feature, bubbling away gently

Our new, old, water feature, bubbling away gently

The neighbours were throwing out an old water feature from their back yard the other day.  It was still working, if not exactly brand new.  So I snaffled it.  It has been sitting in the garage since then, and every time I walked past it, I briefly thought it was time to put it outside.  Today, I finally got round to it.  While the Husband was reluctantly fiddling with his paperwork and installing anti-virus software on his computer, I was arse-up in the garden, putting in the fountainy thing.  It’s in. It’s working. I feel a totally unreasonable sense of pride that I have conquered the machine…  It’s not a glamorous item, more weathered and organic, or that’s how I justify its slightly scruffy appearance.  But it’s running, and produces a pleasant trickling noise.

The Flame Tree, now topping the fence

The Flame Tree, now topping the fence

I just love the colour of these new leaves on the dwarf Bowen Mango

I just love the colour of these new leaves on the dwarf Bowen Mango

Elsewhere in the Gardens, the young trees are making progress.  The young flame tree is now wearing a completely new set of leaves and has, I believe, grown at least 10cm since we acquired it.  So that’s good.  The Husband may yet get to see it flower.

The mango is unstoppable.  More new leaves, in that gorgeous bronze-plum colour of young mango leaves.

The dwarf lychee, which I’ve been worried about, is finally sprouting a whole regiment of leaf buds, which is good, because the older leaves are looking a bit tragic: spotted, browning and rather droopy.

New leaf buds on the dwarf lychee

New leaf buds on the dwarf lychee

On the whole, things are progressing well, even if the unusually hot spring is giving the more tender and delicate plants something to think about.

Every day, I look at one or two of them and think they’ve died; they’re prostrated, limp and tragic.

Every morning I’m pleasantly surprised when I’m watering to find that they’ve made it through the night and are looking positively perky!

Gardening in the tropics.  One huge learning curve….

Leave a Reply

