It’s done, it’s finished!

Regular readers will not need me to tell them how relieved and happy I am.  Morning Tea at the Quilting Bee is finally finished!

Morning Tea at the Quilting Bee.  Machine and hand sewn, Dresden plates, English paper piecing, hexagons, hand sewn and machine applique, and the dreaded scalloped edge...

Morning Tea at the Quilting Bee.
Machine and hand sewn, Dresden plates,
English paper piecing, hexagons, hand sewn and
machine applique, and the dreaded scalloped edge…

It’s been a long pull.  I conceived the idea just after finishing chemotherapy, and part of the reason for its very extended piecing phase was that I just can’t sit down and do 4 hours solid at a sewing machine any longer.  There are still chemo side effects to contend with; poor memory and a lack of concentration due to ‘chemo brain’, which has forced me to unpick, fix and generally rethink a lot of work because I’ve made stupid mistakes; and residual pain in my scar and arm which makes sitting with arms out to the sewing machine at times too uncomfortable.  Of course, there have been good reasons not to work on it too: meeting my husband, a whirlwind courtship, moving north to Mackay and getting married.  All, I’m sure you’d agree, very good reasons not to sew for a while.

But now it’s done.  And I’m very happy, not only for myself, but also because I’ve been able to do something for the wonderful people at the CanDo Cancer Trust – http://www.candocancertrust.com.au – in Coffs Harbour.  The hanging is theirs to raffle, auction, whatever, to raise money so they can help more people like me.

I’ll be sending it off by courier in the next couple of days, but it’s going to hang behind my worktable for a little while longer so I can gloat a bit…  Meanwhile, the black and white Magpies quilt for my friend Tracey is beckoning…

Smug self gloating in front of completed wall hanging

Smug self gloating in front of
completed wall hanging

Off to investigate the contents of my fabric cupboard…

7 thoughts on “It’s done, it’s finished!

  1. OH, that one is AWESOME!!!

  2. Jen says:

    Looks fantastic! Well done mrs! Xxx

  3. sally says:

    Kate I checked your blog out after seeing your comments on Celi’s blog. Your quilt is beautiful, amazing that you finished it at all with so much going on. You gloat girl!

  4. Tracey R says:

    Hi Kate I read every day but I am very slack with comments. Sorry!! The quilt looks fantastic!! You are an inspiration. x x x x

  5. wombatquilts says:

    Really really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

