No more excuses. Just do it.

OK, there’s no more faffing about. This thing has got to be quilted…

I knew it was past time to get started when I checked my quilting threads and sent up a silent cheer because I was out of the beige I need for the bottom half of the centre section.  I have been procrastinating (dontcha love that word, it’s so, um, applicable) far too long.  So I’m giving up my lunchbreak at work to make a dash to the patchwork shop to buy beige thread.  Of course, I’m not actually giving up lunch, that would be a sacrifice too far.

Morning Tea at the Quilting Bee: the top's done, the layers are sandwiched together

Morning Tea at the Quilting Bee: the top’s done,
the layers are sandwiched together

I’ve marked up some basic straight quilting lines on the bottom section: lines that radiate from a central vanishing point to give a subtle (I hope) sense of perspective. The top half will have echo quilting in all the different shapes that form the background. I’m going to outline the cake stand, cups, etc. I’m also going to outline quilt the Dresden plates around the outside, and around the central circle. The yoyos will get a triangular line around them which is following the curve of the plates. I’m going to do basic diamond quilting behind the teapot in the bottom centre and around the embroidered title at the top. I’m thinking I may have to do some more dense quilting in a slightly darker colour under the cake stand to create a sort of shadow effect. Maybe also under the cups and cakes. And if I’m feeling ambitious, under the cakes? What do you think? Am I going overboard here? Your thoughts/comments would be appreciated.

The edge of the quilt is going to be scalloped to follow the outlines of the plates, and bound in red bias strip with a small white spot. I’ve gone very plain on the back, pale yellow with a small white spot. Yup, there’s definitely a bit of a spot thing going on here.

It hasn’t got to be amazing, it’s not for a show, but it has got to be good enough that someone will pay money for it.  That’s the point. It’s to raise money for charity. Imagine you’re single, you live alone, 60km from the nearest relative and most of your friends. You discover you have breast cancer right after you’re made redundant at work. You get unemployment benefit/sickness benefit, but that’s not nearly enough to cover the bills. A big one comes in. You’re just starting chemotherapy, you’re very sick and finding it hard to cope with everyday life, let alone going into battle over this bill. And then there’s a miracle. A hand is held out, and it’s holding what you need, given without obligation and with love by some wonderful people who make it their business to help people in my position (CanDo Cancer Trust). The bill is paid, the worry goes away, you can concentrate on getting better. You write a thank you letter, but it’s not nearly enough. So if you’re me, you make something. Because you still don’t have money, but you do have a stash, and some time, and an idea which has been struggling to be made, which is perfect for the purpose. Surviving and getting on with living got in the way a bit for a while, but now I’m nearly there.

I must say, I always find the start of the quilting process intimidating. I have to clear the decks of all the bits, scraps, threads, etc, left over from the patchwork process. I have to put things away to make my workspace clear. Quilting can be quite physical: you’re pushing around a fairly large and often quite heavy object, trying to control its progress through the sewing machine so your quilting is tidy, even and in the right places. So I think it’s understandable that I’ve been putting off the moment when it begins. But now I’m out of excuses.

3 thoughts on “No more excuses. Just do it.

  1. Sarah says:

    This is an absolutely lovely quilt. Not just lovely to look at, but lovely in its purpose. How generous of you to give back to the people who helped you. I hope all is well with you now.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much, how kind. I’m in remission, but continuing to support CanDo and publicise the brilliant job they do as much as I can. Watch this space for more quilted donations! Kate

  2. […] His normally sunny-tempered consort is grim-faced, bloody-fingered (from the pins) and her hair is standing on end.  The overall effect is rather like an irritated bear. It’s not a good look. And the reason for all this joy? The ongoing battle with The Quilt that Fought Back. […]

Leave a Reply

