In at the deep end…

Finally, I have entered the bloggosphere.  It’s about time, I hear many of you cry, since I’ve been more or less blogging for the last 5 years, sending out a weekly bulletin/email thingy with my week’s doings.  So, I eventually grew tired of the schedule and decided I’d add stuff when I felt like it instead of once a week.

I’m quite interested to see if this is going to be user friendly or more trouble than it’s worth.  It’s not too complicated so far…  One of the things I wanted was to be able to add photos, so here we go… One of my recent efforts.

I love the way the feathery cane flowers are echoed by the flames above them

I love the way the feathery cane flowers are echoed by the flames above them

And here we are.  It’s currently one of my favourite images. It’s a cane fire: they fire the mature cane crop to clear out dried leaves, weeds and other trash before harvesting to ensure that what gets sent to the sugar mill is more cane than rubbish. Very dramatic, very exciting to watch.

Cool, so that works.  Tick.  You don’t get a huge choice of fonts, but you can make stuff pretty colours. It’s going to need some work and experimentation to get this looking the way I want, but that’s true of everything new.

OK, what else is new.  Well, yesterday we planted out my three new dwarf fruit trees: an avocado, a mango and a lychee.  They grow no more than 3m tall (unlike the full size jobs, which can top out at 20m easily), and are happy in large tubs, so that’s what they got, on little wheeled platforms so I can push them around to catch sun or shade.  And now I’ll be able to eat my own fruit in 2-3 years, instead of buying it in the supermarket. The fruits are full sized, not dwarfed, so I can pig out.

We’ve been away for a couple of weeks, and I left my baby vegies under a drip irrigation system while I was gone.  I got back on Wednesday to find that most had survived very well: my rainbow chard is rampant, the spinach is fine, the bush beans have produced enough for dinner tonight, and the climbing bean is also OK, if not quite so prolific.  The capsicums and tomatoes and zucchini aren’t quite so happy; I think the unusually hot and dry spring weather has retarded them a little, so I shall have to see what some TLC will do now I’m back.

I have to turn over the rest of the earth where the compost has been spread in my tropical garden.  It’s had a couple of weeks for the worms to get cracking and loosen up the soil. I’ve done about a square metre, and backbreaking work it is too.  But now there are some plants happily nodding away there, and one of them even has a flower.  That’s what I call enthusiasm.  It must be the yummy black compost they’re enjoying.

OK, enough yapping.  Third post of the day, and more than enough for the moment.  Now I just have to work out how to let everyone out there know where to go….

Leave a Reply

