Who can resist a bargain…?

Not I, that’s for sure.

The post-Christmas sales are on. And since the fabrics were 40% off (yes, you did read that right), I indulged. A bit. OK, quite a lot.  But it was all sensible or necessary, I promise. Sort of….

So, here’s the identity parade:

Screen shot 2014-12-27 at 2.58.26 PM

Lovely neutrals. I can’t pick a favourite, they’re all great.

Screen shot 2014-12-27 at 2.58.44 PM

It must be obvious by now that I’m a paisley freak and that by extension, I simply had to buy this fat quarter….

Screen shot 2014-12-27 at 2.59.00 PM

More of the lovely stuff I used for backing my Happiness quilt, plus a warm beige homespun, and a little more of that fabulous green shot cotton.

Also bought but not shown because it doesn’t photograph particularly well is 2 metres of indigo wideback for the back of Worldwide Friends. Looks like the back’s going to be blue too, but with a different feel.

Next year, I must make a few more AHQ quilts and laundry bags; I feel guilty every time I see that so many other ladies have been busily stitching away. And I must finish the Husband’s Star quilt. And Steampunk needs a good bit of attention. And I have the Kaffe Fassett Hatbox quilt I’ve been promising myself since forever. And there’s my Winter Quilt, all hand stitched batik clamshells in rich dark shades, not even started. And one day, I’ll actually make a quilt from all the denim squares I’ve recycled from the Husband’s work jeans. And so on. You get the idea…

Back to hexies. I’m slowly assembling the square block I showed in my last Worldwide Friends post. Once that’s done, I shall make the equivalent square for the other side.  It’s going to be important to watch out for patchiness in the colour balance. I don’t want it to look splotchy. My plan is for the quilt to be darkest in the centre and get a little lighter as I work outwards, since not all the fabrics are very dark indigo. So far, it’s working pretty well.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and are ready for both challenges and fun in the New Year.

11 thoughts on “Who can resist a bargain…?

  1. ordinarygood says:

    Wow! Lots of goals for 2015….go you. Lovely loot you have shown us today:-))

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re not the most exciting fabrics I’ve ever bought, but they do fill some gaps in my stash, and the big piece of indigo will let me finish Worldwide Friends in a few months.

  2. What a lovely splurge! I bought 3 fat quarters to make a black and grey bag but have been busy finishing a difficult red one to replace an early effort which is disintegrating from excessive use. I must photograph them.
    Have a happy quilty new year.

  3. Carole says:

    The only thing better than new fabric stash is bargain fabric stash 🙂

  4. claire93 says:

    you are not alone – no one can resist a bargain! I’ve already ordered a xstitch kit, making the most of a 60% off lol

  5. I would have bought that paisley fat quarter too. I also love paisley.
    I am feeling guilty about slipping on the humidicrib front. I have to make some in 2015. You have done a great job on AHQ.
    I have a single hatbox block that became a cushion! You might not have seen it as it was an early blog post.

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s something so satisfying about paisley, and the colours tend to appeal to me. I have nothing planned for it, except perhaps to add it to my Hatbox Quilt stash! If I do nothing else for AHQ next year except make laundry bags, I shall be satisfied. The quilts are actually quite hard to pick fabrics for, being predominantly blokey and on sports subjects…

  6. pattisj says:

    Nice finds. And a sale! I find fat quarters irresistible.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.